Michael Bisping is ready for UFC 127

By Michael Bisping

In less than month, I’ll be making the 22 hour flight to Sydney, Australia once more and looking to overcome the boos of the audience and the fists of my opponent to another UFC victory.  I’m fighting American Jorge Rivera at Acer Arena, on February 27 at UFC 127, and expect nothing less than a resounding victory on Aussie soil just like our boys did in the Ashes.

I’m getting close to contention for a shot at the UFC Middleweight Title. I had a setback last February when I lost a decision to legend Wanderlei Silva in a fight that could really have gone either way, but came back last year to win two big fights including a war with Japan’s Yoshihiro Akiyama in London in October.

That was one of the highlights of my career, boxing champ David Haye was cheering me on and guys like Robert Downey Junior, Jude Law and Guy Richie were all in the front row.

Akiyama is a warrior, he caught me with a huge punch within the opening 10 seconds but I fought back and we earned a bonus for Fight of the Night.

I was expecting a big name opponent after that win. I’ve been in the UFC for five years almost, which is an achievement in itself, and was hoping to step back up in class to push my case for a UFC Title shot in 2011.

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

