Ryan Bader: Let Jon Jones focus on my Facebook, my Twitter

By Rob Tatum

As Ryan Bader prepares for the biggest fight of his career on Saturday at UFC 126 against Jon Jones, his personal projects have been forced to the backburner. Along with longtime training partners C.B. Dollaway and Aaron Simpson, Bader will soon be opening Power MMA in Arizona.

“The gym is getting done,” explained Bader. “The pros are there training now. But I’m only worried about the fight. Afterward, I’ll get the gym up and running.”

The undefeated light heavyweight contender took a breather from training to join host Joe Rizzo for Rear Naked Choke Radio on the MMA DieHards Radio Network. The pair discussed Bader’s explosive opponent and what Ryan thinks separates him from Jones’ previous opponents. The bout with Jones is one of the rare instances where two rising contenders will cross paths on their way to a title shot. The humble Bader is approaching this fight just like every other in his career.

“I put a lot of pressure on myself to go out and win every fight. I’ve done that since I was a collegiate wrestler. Every fight is the same for me,” proclaimed Bader.

Despite the potential title shot that may be at stake in the fight, Bader isn’t concerning himself with what a victory will bring.

“I put in so much hard work in training camp, I don’t want to let myself, my trainers, or my training partners down. It’s cliché, but if you wait until the fight is in front of you and you go out, keep your head down, and win it, everything will take care of itself,” declared Bader.

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

