Paul Kelly on Cerrone: “i thought we were going straight to work”

Paul Kelly has addressed the criticism he has been receiving over his fight with Donald ‘Cowboy’ Cerrone.

Kelly was accused by some fans of attempting to ‘sucker punch’ Cerrone immediately after a touch of gloves at the start of the fight, but the Brit says dirty tricks are not a part of his repertoire and he was instead looking to “get straight into it” as had been agreed in a conversation with Cerrone the previous day.

“You know what I am like, you never see me shake hands at the weigh ins. But Donald went out of his way to shake hands, so I shook his hand and said look ‘Just, bring it tomorrow. From minute one, I am me.’ and he said ‘Sure, lets get it on and lets make some money. Its about more than just winning, you know?’” Kelly told Fighters Only from Las Vegas on Sunday night.

“So we had an agreement to come out and f–king have it. So when he is standing across the cage I’ve got that in my head, ‘Come out and have it’. In my mind it was going to be the same as the start of my fight with Paul Taylor – just straight to work and go at it properly.

“I wouldn’t pull a dirty trick, you know what I mean? I’ve just touched [gloves] and went to work straight away – I thought that’s what he was going to do. Maybe I should have waited a split-second more but I thought we just going to go straight at it from the off, I was expecting him to be straight in. I’ve said sorry and I don’t know what I can do or say.

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

