Strikeforce champ Gilbert Melendez signs new multi-year agreement

By MMAjunkie

Strikeforce has wrapped up its lightweight champion for the foreseeable future.

Gilbert Melendez (18-2 MMA, 8-1 SF), a staple of the San Jose, Calif.-based organization and one of the world’s top-ranked 155-pound fighters, has signed a new multi-year deal, officials today announced.

Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

No return date or opponent have been determined for Melendez’s next fight, but it could come at a currently planned April 9 event, which also features the second half of the Strikeforce heavyweight grand prix’s opening round.

“Strikeforce is my home, they’ve always been like family to me, and I’m looking forward to continuing my career with them,” the 27-year-old fighter stated. “There are a lot of great fights out there for me – lots of challenges. I can’t wait to get back into the cage, do my thing and show the world that I’m still at the top of my game.”

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

