Dan Henderson Was Interested in Heavyweight Tourney Spot

By Sherdog

Dan Henderson is not a heavyweight, but he told Strikeforce he’d consider competing in the promotion’s upcoming heavyweight tournament.

“They had kind of approached me about fighting in that heavyweight tournament just to see how I’d feel about it,” Henderson revealed recently during a “Savage Dog Show” interview on the Sherdog Radio Network. “I told them I was open to it. It was interesting. Definitely a huge challenge, and that’s one of the reasons why I’m still in the sport, just to challenge myself.”

Henderson is no stranger to fighting in tournaments or against heavier competition. After winning two four-man tournaments to start his career, he captured the 32-man Rings “King of Kings” field in February 2000. En route to the finals he won a split decision over future heavyweight great Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira.

“I think there’s a couple of matchups that would have been interesting for me or fun to do,” Henderson said of the Strikeforce tournament. “I don’t think I would have won the tournament by any means, but possibly. Of course I said that when I went into that Rings ‘King of Kings’ tournament. I didn’t think I was going to win it, but I was going to do my best.”

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

