Georges St. Pierre dismissed talk of Silva fight for now, Shields happy to be in the underdog role

By Michael Pepper

UFC welterweight champion, Georges St. Pierre has immediately dismissed the notion that he’s locked in to face middleweight champion, Anderson Silva in a super fight later on this year, explaining he has to get past Jake Shields first who is more than a worthy opponent.

Speaking at today’s press conference in Toronto, St. Pierre said:

“I don’t even think about this right now. I never thought about it. I always live in the present moment, and my biggest problem is Jake Shields. It would be foolish for me to look past Jake Shields. He poses the biggest threat to my title. He’s a very well rounded fighter, and the UFC brought him in, and I’m glad they did because he’s the No. 1 guy for the welterweight title. As a champion, I’m a proud champion, and I want to fight the best guys. I’m going to fight Jake Shields, and I’m happy to do so.”

Former Strikeforce middleweight champion, Jake Shields also spoke about the situation regarding St. Pierre and Silva, as well as adding he’s happy to be playing the underdog against the Canadian, much like he has in the past.

“They’ve both been so dominant in the UFC the last few years, people are talking about it, but I think it’s a big mistake to overlook me cause I plan on coming out there and spoiling that fight. I love this role. I love getting looked past, same as Dan Henderson. Everybody’s talking about Henderson, the next champ, Strikeforce was trying to throw me out on a loss, but I definitely had different plans. Everyone’s talking about GSP this, and GSP that, which I do think he’s a phenomenal fighter and deserves all this, but I plan on going out there and dethroning his title run.”

UFC President, Dana White was also in attendance today in Toronto, saying the trio are locked into an interesting triangle right now.

“Georges has to get through this fight first before we can even talk about an Anderson Silva fight. Jake has been on this run and he’s fought at 185 pounds, too, and been dominant there. But the thing is the reason this Anderson Silva/Georges St-Pierre fight makes so much sense is because these two have been consistently fighting in the UFC, and this is more of a legacy super fight.”

“People argue over who the pound-for-pound best in the world is. Is it GSP? Is it Anderson Silva? If he beats Jake Shields, (Anderson) just beat Vitor, they’ve cleaned out an entire division over the last several years and the fight makes sense. It’s like the pound-for-pound championship.”

The event in Toronto is set to break more than one record as more than 40,000 fans are expected to be in attendance in the biggest UFC event in the promotions history. Stay tuned to MMABay for more build-up to thie one and more as we get it.

Source

Leave a Reply

