Against Shogun, Jones Will Fight the Body, Not the Name

By Sherdog.com

Fresh off a Feb. 5 submission win over Ryan Bader, Jon Jones will be back in the cage March 19 to challenge Mauricio “Shogun” Rua for the UFC light heavyweight championship.

Jones discussed the matchup and more Tuesday during an appearance on Bruce Buffer’s “It’s Time” show on the Sherdog Radio Network. Quick quotes from Jones follow.

On getting a title shot: “I’m just embracing this moment and trying not to be intimidated by any of it. I’m excited. I’m trying to remember that no fight’s a big fight and not to fight anyone’s name or face but fight the body. Fight the body and do the things that I’m normally doing in training camp. I feel really great.”

On fighting again just six weeks after beating Bader: “Usually I spend the first two weeks of my training camp getting in shape. I’m already in shape, so I have a great base to start off [from] physically. I can even make myself that much better physically. I’ll have an eight-pack instead of a six-pack my next fight hopefully.”

On the role of film study in his preparation for Shogun: “I think studying is going to be the biggest piece. Know what I’m doing. That’s something I take very seriously.”

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

