‘Feijão’ working his boxing, not wrestling, to beat Dan Henderson

Report and photo Guilherme Cruz

Strikeforce’s champion on the light heavyweight division, Rafael Feijão hosted TATAME TV at X-Gym and chatted about his first title defense on the United States, against the former champion of Pride, Dan Henderson, and revealed he doesn’t have focused much on his Wrestling, his opponent’s strong point. “The trainings are pretty hard, it’s a huge team. I don’t train much Wrestling… I train some specific Wrestling positions and I take classes once in a while, but I can’t play Wrestling a lot. I’ve trained for four months, but when it’s close to the fight I rather focus on what I’m best”, said Rafael, who’s talked about the American’s striking, commented the fight between Anderson Silva and Vitor Belfort and pointed out his favorite fighters on Strikeforce’s heavyweight GP, and a lot more.

What are the expectations for this fight?
The trainings are pretty hard, with coach Erivan, today we did some Boxing prep, it’s a phenomenon the guys who are here: Anderson, Minotouro, Roberto Corvo, Erik Silva, Jaca… It’s a huge group and everybody’s in shape, we’ve trained a lot for this fight. Thanks God, everybody had their fights scheduled near each other, so we could help each other more, because we are our own sparrings, so as everybody’s on a good shape, we all push each other and the ones who weren’t prepared had to train even harder.

You’ve trained your guard just now, escaped from the grid… How you’re preparing yourself for the Wrestling game he’ll try to bring you to?
This training is not specific for this fight, usually do this training of attacking and defending on the grid. I don’t train much Wrestling… I train some specific Wrestling positions and I take classes once in a while, but I can’t play Wrestling a lot. I’ve trained for four months, but when it’s close to the fight you can get injured and I rather focus on what I’m best: Boxing, Muay Thai and Jiu-Jitsu.

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

