Matt Hughes Blog: Training with Penn

By Matt Hughes

FIrst off I want to say Happy Valentine’s to everybody and especially to my loving wife, Audra Marie Hughes. Without her where would I be???

Hanna and I just got back from a pretty long trip. Thursday the 3rd, we left for Las Vegas to do some stuff for the UFC. Friday I spent the morning with Brock Lesnar and his team at the TUF gym. Then we went straight to the weigh-ins and then Saturday we eventually watched the UFC fights. A good night of fights and I even won another $100 off my buddy Boomer. Which reminds me, it’s his birthday today, so Happy Birthday Boomer! We left Vegas on Sunday morning and flew straight to Hawaii. BJ Penn had texted me a couple of weeks ago to see if I had some time to come out and train and get him ready for Fitch. After that initial call I checked my schedule, said I could come and had him send me Fitch’s last five fights.

BJ gave me first class accommodations all the way through. I think we got some good training in, I’d love to sit here and tell you what we worked on, but I just can’t. What I can tell you to do is go to BJPenn.com and there are several videos of us on there. I think most of them will have my little Hanna in there as well. It was a great experience for me, first off I got to train with BJ; I think we would both say that we’re a lot alike. And number two, I got to spend some quality time with my daughter. I’m on the road a lot and usually my family is at home. This time I was gone for nine days and got to take my 4 1/2 year old daughter with me. One of the things I liked most is that Hanna will most likely remember everything and it was 1-on-1 time with my girl.
If you just want to go directly to the videos here is a list of them:
MATT AND HANNA HUGHES SHOWING US SOME MOVES
MATT HUGHES MAKES HIS ENTRANCE
GETTING READY TO TRAIN 1
GETTING READY TO TRAIN 2
MATT AND HANNA HUGHES PLAYING WITH THE DOLPHINS
MATT HUGHES TRAINING FOR HIS NEXT FIGHT
LAST DAY OF TRAINING WITH MATT HUGHES

Above is a photo of me and Hanna at the UFC.

– matt

 

 

www.matt-hughes.com

Leave a Reply

