Robin Black: Thoughts On MMA Career

By Robin Black

My name is Robin Black. I’m 41 years old. I used to fight Mixed Martial Arts. You know, in a cage, against another man who is trying to hurt me.

It was intense. It was exhilarating. It was scary. It was awesome. I wanted so badly to be amazing at it. I wasn’t, really.

I fought 8 times, losing more than I won. I had some good moments. But, in the end, I wasn’t able to perform well with any consistency. I wanted to be great. I ended up being rather mediocre. Now I need to look back at it, analyze it all. Strangely, I’m kind of excited to do that.

I am going to try to look back at my training, my preparation, my journey and my fights with absolute honesty. I feel its the only way a guy can learn the lessons he needs to learn.

As someone who is immersed in MMA, I’ve heard the reasons and excuses of a hundred fighters who have lost. I’ve heard “The weight cut killed me”, “My rib went out”, “I shouldn’t have taken the caffeine”, “The promoter set me up”, even “The ref stabbed me with a pen when no one was looking.”

Maybe these fighters need to look at losses this way to preserve their view of the world, to maintain their confidence, or to explain their losing record to every guy in a Tapout shirt at the bar. Maybe they need to create a feeling that they are unbeatable, despite evidence to the contrary.

I’m not looking for these things. I don’t care what people who can never understand this think of me. This is a journey.

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

