Kennedy Wants to KO Manhoef

By Sherdog.com

Tim Kennedy thought he was fighting Jason “Mayhem” Miller again. Then Luke Rockhold. Now Melvin Manhoef.

Although his opponent for the March 5 Strikeforce event in Columbus, Ohio, seems to keep changing, Kennedy likes the latest challenge.

“Melvin’s on a list of guys I’ve been wanting to fight in Strikeforce,” Kennedy said recently on the Sherdog Radio Network’s “Beatdown” show. “I couldn’t be more thrilled. He’s a great fighter. He’s really exciting. I love fighting guys that come to fight. My least favorite guys in all of MMA are the counterpunchers that like to ride out decisions. I want somebody that’s going to come right at me and actually wants to show up to fight, and that’s Melvin.”

Kennedy does not feel RonaldoJacare” Souza wanted to fight in their Strikeforce middleweight title bout last August. Souza won a unanimous decision that left Kennedy infuriated.

“That fight was totally crap,” Kennedy said. “I sat there for 25 minutes and stalked the guy around the cage as he would peck me with the jab or throw an overhand right. Repeat for 25 minutes. That sucks. I, as a fan, would get bored with that fight. For crying out loud, come forward and fight me. You’re the greatest grappler on the planet. So I stuff you on a couple of takedowns, maybe try for a third one. If I take you down, maybe try to submit me. Don’t sit there and ride out a decision doing some fancy footwork for some so-called judges that are boxing judges. That’s stupid. If you’re going to win a title, come into the cage to fight.”

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

