URIJAH FABER “The Difference Between Me And Cruz Is I’m Dangerous And Elusive And He’s Just Elusive.”

By BJPenn.com

A long time featherweight champ and contender, Urijah Faber has long been regarded as one of the best fighters in the business. After failing to regain his title against current champ Jose Aldo, Faber took a leap of faith and dropped down to a division where many have believed for a long time is his rightful weight class.

It was back at WEC 52 last November, where Faber made his bantamweight debut against Takeya Mizugaki. It took Urijah less than 5 minutes to get his hand raised and take out the top 10 fighter via rear naked choke.

Having finally made the cut to 135, and having successfully destroyed his first divisional top 10 opponent, I caught up with Urijah to discuss his debut at Bantamweight, and his future goals for the division he now calls home.

First things first, he discussed making the weight…

“I felt really good, it was definitely a tough cut but I was able to put some weight back on and I was really overly cautious with my diet but it was actually kind of a perfect cut. I think I can actually be a little more relaxed this time and don’t need to stress out. Last time I did test cuts really far out and now I know my body can get to that weight and still feel good. So it takes a little bit of stress off me. I felt incredible in there. I felt fast and strong and I think it’s a good weight for me. “

With the WEC now merged into Zuffa’s promotional giant, I asked Urijah what it means for him to finally make his UFC debut.

“Making my UFC debut, I really want to make a statement. I feel like this is where I have wanted to be and finally getting here is pretty cool. But again, it’s more of the same for me. I’m fighting the same fighters I was fighting in the WEC. I’ve been in big arenas, I’ve been on pay-per-view and national television so I’ve been on the highest level as far as exposure goes and this is just going to help me take it to a higher level.”

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

