Georges St-Pierre Not Looking Towards a Fight With Anderson Silva

By Sal DeRose

The fighting has gone back and forth.

Georges St-Pierre is better. No, Anderson Silva is better. If they were to fight it would be the clash of the MMA titans for the biggest event in UFC history.

The top two pound-for-pound fighters in the world, face to face, in what is the biggest fight of their respective careers.

It’s clear on one thing though, St-Pierre is not looking past Jake Shields and towards the mega-fight with Silva.

“This thing for me, I take it [Silva mega-fight talk] like a distraction from my fight. My immediate goal is to win against Jake Shields. I made a mistake in the past, looking past an opponent. And I’m never going to do it again, because last time I did that I got beat by Matt Serra.”

As he should. GSP still has one obstacle left before even determining whether or not he will move up to middleweight to fight the champion in Anderson Silva.

If Shields catches GSP and happens to beat him, well that ends all the talks and everyone will look elsewhere for another mega-fight or perhaps Anderson Silva making the move to the light heavyweight division.

“For me it would be foolish to look past Jake Shields,” GSP added. “I don’t know what’s going to happen. Maybe it’s going to happen or maybe it’s not going to happen—this super-fight. I will see. . . It’s too complicated to say. We’ll need to wait until after Jake Shields to talk about it.”

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

