GABE RUEDIGER Talks About His Release From The UFC And His 145 Aspirations

By Pedro Carrasco

Gabe Ruediger was first made known to the common MMA fan with a stint on the Ultimate Fighter Season 5 where he was a member of Team Penn. In an almost infamous episode Gabe failed to make weight and got cut from the shows cast.

While his stint on the show was not his first Gig with the UFC it was the one that has remained on the fans mind ever since.

Fast forward several years and after stringing 6 consecutive wins outside of the Octagon, Gabe received a call to action on two weeks’ notice to face Joe Lauzon at UFC 118. He lost in the first frame of action.

Two weeks ago at UFC 126 Gabe received his second consecutive loss and days later was asked to leave the promotion.

I caught up with my friend and fellow Californian shortly after hearing the news of his dismissal and this is what he had to say.

“The reality was I knew if I lost my last fight that was going to be the next thing that happened. In the UFC right now, the 155 pound division is dog eat dog. If you don’t go out and win you’re going to get cut. I knew that was going to happen. I’m more disappointed about losing than getting cut by the UFC. It is what it is; I can’t sit and wallow on my self-pity for too long.”

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

