Lyle Beerbohm Hopes Win Over Healy Will Put Him in Strikeforce Title Picture

By Ben Fowlkes

There’s nothing so remarkable about Lyle Beerbohm, really.

He’s just your run-of-the-mill recovering meth addict who’s racked up a perfect 16-0 record as an MMA fighter. He did a year in a Washington state prison, which is where he first saw an episode of ‘The Ultimate Fighter.’ Then he walked out of jail and into an MMA gym, where he freely admits he traded being hooked on meth for being hooked on MMA.

“To get off that addiction, I needed something,” he told MMA Fighting.

MMA turned out to be that something, and “Fancy Pants” turned out to be pretty good at it.

“When you shoot up meth as much as I did and for as many years as I did, you don’t know what’s going to happen when you get out of prison,” said Beerbohm. “I was lucky enough to find MMA and I traded my meth addiction for an MMA addiction. I went from putting all my time in one thing to putting it in another. And what MMA did was put my head back on my shoulders. It made me think straight, and now I’ve got my family back in my life, my friends and training partners, and we’re all close.”

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

