Miesha Tate On The Knee Injury That Knocked Her Out of Strikeforce Title Fight

By Damon Martin

There may not be a more somber moment in a fighter’s life than when they have to make the call to their promotion to let them know they are hurt and can’t fight.

It’s compounded when that bout also happens to be a title fight.

That’s the call Miesha Tate had to make recently when she suffered a knee injury in training. After seeking out a doctor’s advice, she had to let Strikeforce know that she would be unable to compete in her upcoming title fight against Marloes Coenen.

Tate, speaking to MMAWeekly Radio on Wednesday night, just hours after Strikeforce announced her withdrawal, documented the injury and how it happened.

“It was wrestling day and I was going with a guy that was probably about 165 (pounds), which is about my cap. Usually I don’t go much bigger than that because I end up getting hurt, and anyways he went in to shoot a double-leg, I kind of stuffed that, and he went for an ankle pick. My ankle rolled and my knee went out from the rest of my body, kind of out to the side,” Tate explained. “I just kind of heard a pop and then I fell down in a lot of pain and hobbled off the mat.”

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

