Danny Castillo – Fresh start for “last call”

By Rhett Butler

When Danny Castillo enters the Octagon this Thursday it will be his first time fighting as a freshly minted UFC competitor. After toiling away at the smaller show level, Castillo paid his dues, eventually making it into the WEC, where he made his mark in the organization alongside his Team Alpha Male cohorts. Now with this new transition, this former wrestler turned mixed martial artist is ready to tackle the UFC’s big names with no trepidations.

“It’s an honor to fight Joe Stevenson, a title contender and The Ultimate Fighter season 2 champ,” said Danny Castillo. “Stylistically, it’s a bad matchup for him and I think there’s a lot of pressure on him. And even though it’s my first UFC fight, the WEC and the UFC have the same staff so as soon as I get off the plane I’m going to know everyone; it’s not going to be something foreign to me. The only thing different will be the color of my gloves. For the first time in my career I’m not really tripping because I’m in a good place with myself mentally and I truly believe I’m going to win.”

Such confidence was rarely uncommon for Castillo growing up, where he showed out in class more and more often in high school. The product of a tough Sacramento upbringing, Castillo started off wrestling as a debt to a high school administrator who saved his tail from the wrath of a potentially angry parent.

“I got into wrestling from getting in trouble,” said Castillo. “The Vice-Principal of my high school was a wrestling coach and I got in trouble a ton of times that year. The fourth time, he was going to call my mom in a month and I begged him not to because I knew my mom would mess me up. Then he said, ‘you think you’re so tough I’ll make you a deal: if you go to wrestling practice I won’t call your mom.’ So I went to wrestling practice and got my butt kicked by a bunch of seniors and I haven’t stopped wrestling since.”

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

