Diego Sanchez feels like a new fighter entering bout with Martin Kampmann

By Case Keefer

Diego Sanchez awoke and ended “The Nightmare.”

Sanchez, the UFC veteran who won the first season of ‘The Ultimate Fighter‘, had become known by his nickname over his near decade long stint as a professional fighter. He’s now officially announced he wants to get rid of it.

“I let “The Nightmare” go,” Sanchez said. “To me, I feel a negative in it. I don’t like it. It’s kind of evil. I don’t want to represent that. I want to represent positivity and I want to represent the good.”

That’s not the only thing Sanchez has changed. Over the last six months, the 29-year old Sanchez says he has refocused himself and entered a new phase of his career.

Sanchez (27-4 MMA, 11-4 UFC) hopes his approach pays dividends when he meets Martin Kampmann (17-4 MMA, 8-3 UFC) in the Main Event of Thursday’s UFC on Versus 3 card at the KFC Yum! Center in Louisville, Ky.

“In my mind, I feel like I have already earned the ‘W’,” Sanchez said. “I’ve worked so hard and I’ve done extra things.”

In addition to his training regimen, Sanchez has spent the last few months working with a high school wrestling team in his native Albuquerque, N.M. He either lifts more weights or goes running in the 8,000-feet mountains when his day at the gym is over.

 

Continue Reading…

One Response

  1. […] Diego Sanchez feels like a new fighter entering bout with Martin Kampmann « The EvilMaster Rep… […]

Leave a Reply

