Following bizarre loss, UFC on Versus 3’s Palhares refocused

By John Morgan

Six months ago, Brazilian submission wizard Rousimar Palhares (11-3 MMA, 4-1 UFC) was riding a three-fight win streak and earning some recognition as one of the top contenders in the UFC’s middleweight division.

But after a lapse in concentration left him the victim of a Nate Marquardt TKO, Palhares knows he’s starting from scratch again.

No matter, Palhares told MMAjunkie.com (www.mmajunkie.com). Starting with tonight’s UFC on Versus 3 event, Palhares is prepared to climb his way up the ladder once again.

“I lost a very good chance in my last fight, and it hurts because I knew I had a very good chance to win the fight,” Palhares said through his trainer and interpreter, Murilo Bustamante. “So, no bad feelings; I just have to learn from my mistakes and work as hard as I can to recover my position in my division.”

Against Marquardt, Palhares found himself in the main event of a UFC Fight Night event. After missing an early takedown attempt, Palhares attempted to signal to referee Herb Dean that his opponent’s leg felt slippery. However, Dean did not call a halt to the action, and Marquardt seized the opportunity to net the TKO via ground and pound.

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

