Strikeforce’s Tim Kennedy Forecasts Knockout of Melvin Manhoef

By Matt Bishop

Tim Kennedy has seen a revolving door of opponents for his fight Saturday at Strikeforce: Feijao vs. Henderson.

First it was supposed to be a rubber match with Jason Miller, but a fight with “Mayhem” never materialized. Then Luke Rockhold was signed but had to pull out due to injury. Finally, Strikeforce found Kennedy a different kind of opponent: Vaunted striker Melvin Manhoef.

The two will meet on the main card this Saturday from Nationwide Arena in Columbus, Ohio on Showtime.

“(My training’s) been constant,” Kennedy told Bloody Elbow Radio last week. “I was hoping I was going to be fighting March 5 and I was moving forward as if I were. The opponents changed, but I’ll have a little over a month to train specifically for Melvin. I’ve been in training camp for three months. I’m in great shape, 100 percent healthy and changed up the game plan a little bit of course because Melvin is very different than both Jason and Luke, so I’m just moving forward.”

Getting a fight has been a challenge for Kennedy. He hasn’t fought since August when he dropped a unanimous decision to Ronaldo Souza in a fight for the vacant Strikeforce middleweight title.

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

