Palhares: “I don’t train the heel-hook that much”

By Guilherme Cruz

States, the Brazilian Rousimar “Toquinho” Palhares spoke with TATAME and, for our surprise, he revealed he doesn’t spend much time training that heel-lock, a coup he used to get 7 off his 9 wins by submission, including the one of yesterday, over Dave Branch.

“I’ll tell you something, I don’t train the heel-hook that much, it comes naturally to me. Every time I’m fighting, my opponents try to hide their feet, they play on the defense, so I had to learn to catch what I could at the time”, said Rousimar, who talked about his trainings at BTT, his evolvement on striking, UFC Rio and a possible confrontation with Anderson Silva, current champion of the division. “Everybody, while on a good day, can be tough for their opponent. I believe I can indeed give him a hard time”, affirmed.

What did you think of the fight? Did things go like you were planning to?
Not everything like I was planning to, but thanks’ God it worked out. I’m glad with the result of this fight.

Dave Branch managed to work until a certain point using his takedown defenses, he escaped from one of your heel-locks… Were you surprised by his defenses?
On the first time yes, but then I realized I didn’t fit it correctly, I made a silly mistake, but I knew I’d get him if I tried again… And that’s what I did, I tried to catch him in another angle.

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

