Rashad backtracking on talk of moving weight classes?

By Fighters Only

Evans had said he would go to heavyweight or middleweight if Jones won, because he does not want to fight him. But he seemingly backtracked on that when he spoke to Bloody Elbow.

“I’m kind of on the smaller end of things. I’m 5’11 and I walk around at 225 lb. so I’m not really that big. If I go to 185 lb. I probably wouldn’t still be all that big and it would be difficult to make the weight and if I jumped up to heavyweight then I would be a munchkin,” he said.

“It would be fun to do because any fights taken in those divisions I could go into without any care and they would just be fun fights to do but at the same time I feel that light heavyweight is my home. I’ve been in this division and beat people that I wasn’t expected to beat.

“I’m here because I’m scrappy as hell and resilient by nature but I did it all at light heavyweight. I feel that this is my home. I don’t want to switch weight classes and lose my mojo. With all due respect I don’t want to be like Brandon Vera. Like I said with all due respect and it’s nothing against Brandon Vera but I don’t want to lose that mojo.”

 

Continue Reading…

Leave a Reply

